Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award

I’m so chuffed right now that I can’t stop smiling. Melissa from A Broken Backpack (an awesome blog I can’ get enough of) has nominated little old me for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award! How amazingly awesome is that?! My blog is such a little thing that I’m sure only my mum and best friend ever read it… when they have nothing better to do, so it’s amazing to be nominated by an awesome blogger that I respect a lot. Thank you so much Melissa.

Hiking in Stewart Island

She asked me 10 Questions, so here they are, along with my nominations!

1. What is your funniest travelling story?

 Hmmm, I have several small ones, but perhaps one that stands out is the time I almost saw a whale shark in Belize. It was my first dive as a newly certified PADI diver, and I was a bit nervous to dive with someone other than my awesome instructor, and excited at exploring more. I was the slowest to descend, and we followed a coral reef awash with pretty growths and fishes, we were even lucky enough to watch a turtle pass us by and glimpse eagle spotted rays. It was a good dive.

As soon as we surfaced he skipper yelled ‘did you see the whale shark’ from a mouth split with a giant grin. No one had, we though he was having us on. I certainly thought he was just teasing, while they were sometimes seen around the area it wasn’t quite the right time for it, but the proof was in the picture! The whale shark must have swum just above us but no one looked up! I guess I’ll have to keep diving and hoping for another chance to see such an amazing creature!

Learning to dive in Caye Caulker, Belize

Learning to dive in Caye Caulker, Belize

2. Which websites are you using to plan your trips?

I love travel blogs. there are some I read reasonably regularly, and other bloggers I follow and read posts when I see them and when they are particularly of interest to me. I find getting a more personal perspective on a place is really refreshing, and when other backpackers have gone to a destination I know I will be able to do the same. Its also a great way of discovering lesser known tourist attractions, which is a huge plus as I like getting off the beaten path.

P1030369

3. What is the thing that you miss the most from home while you are oversea?

At the moment I’m really missing Central Heating! Most houses in New Zealand don’t have it (mine included) so it’s pretty much always cold now it’s winter. Maybe it doesn’t help that everyone back in the UK is enjoying their summer.

4. What was your first trip & how did you get the travel bug?

I got the travel bug way before my first trip. I grew up hearing tales from my parents travels (they backpacked around the world in the 80s) and I’ve always wanted to go. When I was 18 I went abroad for the first time to Paris with my best friend. It was fantastic being in a different country, with a different language and different rules, and so much to see and do. It started to give me the confidence that I actually could do this, although  it took 9 years before I finally left everything behind to do it!

5. If your blog could only have one picture, which one would it be?

Such a tough question. I’m going for this one, not only is Mount Cook a stunningly beautiful area, but I like to think that he’s watching over us. What would he say if mountains could talk?

The face of Aoraki

I love that Aoraki (Mount Cook) has a face.

6. Tell me about the most significant person you met on the road.

I have been lucky to have met lots of amazing people in my travels, and I really do believe that you meet the right people at the right time. I have not only had a brilliant time making friends, and traveling with new ones, but I’ve also learned a lot from them about people, myself and relationships. The first person I travelled with was a German girl called Michaela. We met at Spanish School in Guatemala, and spent 6 weeks studying, exploring and traveling together. She was fun, confident, and was one of those rare people who draw others to them. I learnt to be more confident in myself, and came out of my shell, making it much easier for me to make new friends on the road. I met her at a time when a travel friend was just what I needed, although I didn’t know it at the time. Travel separates you from your friends not only in distance but because of being at different life stages, so it was great to make a friend who was at the same stage as me.

Me and Michaela riding in the back of a pick up truck in Guatemala

Me and Michaela riding in the back of a pick up truck in Guatemala

7.What is the most important thing that you learned on yourself while traveling?

I’ve been content with who I am for a while, including before I came traveling, but now I am so much more confident about who I am, and that is still getting stronger as I face new experiences and challenges. I don’t care what people think about me, either they will like me for me or not, in which case they’re not worth my time. It’s more important that I am happy to be me, and that I’m confident to be me.

8. What was the weirdest food that you ever had to eat and where was it?

I ate termites on a hike in Nicaragua. They had a very carroty flavour and were strong tasting for something so small!

Termites!

Termites!

9. Where are you planning to go next?

I’m planning a weekend away skiing near Tongariro soon, long term plans are much vaguer but probably Australia and Asia.

10. What are you secretly wish for your Blog?

I dream of being a digital nomad so I will always be able to travel if and when I choose to. It would be amazing if I could do that by writing about my experiences.

P1060406_e

I would like to nominate theses amazing bloggers for the sisterhood of the World Blogger Award

Nathalie from On These Roads

Brittany from Simply Travel

Leya from Leya

Kate from Adventurous Kate

Talara from Newly Nomadic

Amanda from A Dangerous Business

Nicole from Adventures of Lil Nicki

Tine from Fractions of the World

Crystal from Poor Explorer

Simone (and Dan) from The Aussie Flashpacker

Here’s your 10 questions

  1. Where do you get your travel inspiration from?
  2. What is your most memorable experience on Public Transport?
  3. What’s the scariest thing you’ve done?
  4. What advice would you give to a new traveller?
  5. What one item could you not travel without?
  6. What’s one thing travel has made you realise about the world?
  7. What’s your most memorable wildlife experience?
  8. What’s the nicest thing a stranger has done for you?
  9. What do you find hardest about long term travel?
  10. Which country would you go back to and why?

Thanks again Melissa, the smile still hasn’t worn off!

10 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award | Simply Travel

  2. Gemma! How very sweet to think of me for a nomination! I’m very grateful and glad you did – but I no longer do these. It is interesting to read others, yours is very interesting! But no. I’m very grateful and happy about this, but they are time consuming for me. I thank you very, very much anyway, and have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

